Vector Divergence in Mathematica

In summary, the conversation is about creating a manipulate/interactive box to show the vector divergence of an E-field from a sphere using Mathematica. The person asking for help is new to Mathematica and is looking for pointers. The expert suggests using StreamPlot and VectorPlot, and also shares an example they have created in two dimensions. The person asking for help expresses gratitude for the helpful response.
mateomy
I'm trying to make a little manipulate/interactive box that shows the vector divergence of the E-field coming from a sphere. I have no idea how to start as I'm really new to Mathematica. Does anyone have any pointers? I can't find anything particularly helpful on the Wolfram reference or Demonstrations site. Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
mateomy said:
I'm trying to make a little manipulate/interactive box that shows the vector divergence of the E-field coming from a sphere. I have no idea how to start as I'm really new to Mathematica. Does anyone have any pointers? I can't find anything particularly helpful on the Wolfram reference or Demonstrations site. Thanks.

I'm no expert at Mathematica, but I've used StreamPlot and VectorPlot to create vector fields in two dimensions. I've never tried it in 3D, although there is a VectorPlot3D command. Anyway, I've attached the example I did.

Attachments

• DryLab4Manipulate.nb
    4.9 KB · Views: 428
Thank you, very helpful.

Related to Vector Divergence in Mathematica

1. What is vector divergence in Mathematica?

Vector divergence is a mathematical operation used to measure the rate at which a vector field diverges or converges at a particular point in space. In simpler terms, it is a measure of how much a vector field is spreading out or coming together at a given point.

2. How is vector divergence calculated in Mathematica?