Using a Power Supply - Questions & Answers

In summary, the conversation discussed a person's experience with building a power supply and their lack of knowledge in electrical devices. The power supply has both AC and DC voltage options with various terminals for each. The COM terminal is used as a common terminal for the DC section and may be floating with respect to Earth ground. The conversation also touched on the different factors to consider when purchasing a power supply, such as wattage and compatibility with different computer components.
ThereIam
Um, so I'm building this power supply but I am somewhat new to a lot of actual electrical devices...

I have a precision power supply unit. There is an AC voltage option and a DC voltage option.

Within the AC voltage are there are three terminals. The outer two are yellow and marked 6.3VAC and the inner one is 2.6VAC.

For DC there are four terminals the first two being red, then a black one, then a yellow.
They are marked respectively, +5v/3A, +1.25-15V/1A, COM, and -1.25--15V,1A

What does the COM terminal do? And with this power supply, only one terminal will need to be used at a time, true?

This is making me feel stupid.

Thanks.

Oh, if you want to look at a picture,
http://www.google.com/products/cata...a=X&ei=ruAyTvCDDeXSiALG-KXECA&ved=0CFoQ8gIwAA

Physics news on Phys.org
ThereIam said:
Um, so I'm building this power supply but I am somewhat new to a lot of actual electrical devices...

I have a precision power supply unit. There is an AC voltage option and a DC voltage option.

Within the AC voltage are there are three terminals. The outer two are yellow and marked 6.3VAC and the inner one is 2.6VAC.

For DC there are four terminals the first two being red, then a black one, then a yellow.
They are marked respectively, +5v/3A, +1.25-15V/1A, COM, and -1.25--15V,1A

What does the COM terminal do? And with this power supply, only one terminal will need to be used at a time, true?