Urgend Assistance needed: Abstract Algebra

In summary: She is hoping that someone can help her finish the assignment before she goes into treatment for a heart condition tomorrow. She explains that b is a number written in base 10, and that 2 divides 10 if 2 divides b_0. She provides a proof that 2 divides b if a only if 2 divides b_0. She also provides a hint that 2 divides 10.
Hummingbird25
Hi I'm fairly new at abstract algebra and have therefore got stuck with this assignment.

Hope there is somebody here who can help me complete it, because I have been ill these last couple of weeks.

Its goes something like this

b is a number written in base 10

[tex]b\;= \;b_010^0 + b_110^1 + b_210^2 + \hdots + b_n10^n[/tex]

where [tex]0 \leq b_j \leq 10[/tex]

(a) prove that 2 divides b if a only if 2 divides b_0.

My Solution:

Let [tex]b[/tex] be a number written in base 10 as:

[tex]b\;= \;b_010^0 + b_110^1 + b_210^2 + \hdots + b_n10^n[/tex] where [tex]0 \leq b_i < 10[/tex]

Prove that: .[tex]2|b \;\Longleftrightarrow \;2|b_0[/tex]
[/quote]
Given: .[tex]2|b[/tex], we have:

. . [tex]b \;=\;10^nb_n + 10^{n-1}b_{n-1} + 10^{n-2}b_{n-2} + \hdots + 10^2b_2 + 10b_1 + b_o \;=\;2k[/tex] for some integer [tex]k.[/tex]

. . [tex]b_o \;=\;2k - \left(10^nb_n + 10^{n-1}b_{n-1} + 10^{n-2}b_{n-2} + \hdots + 10^2b_2 + 10b_1\right)[/tex]

. . [tex]b_o \;= \;2k\:-\:\left(2\!\cdot\!5\1\cdot\!10^{n-1}a_n + 2\!\cdot5\1\cdot\!10^{n-1}b_{n-1} + \hdots + 2\!\cdot\!5\!\cdot\!10b_2 + 2\!\cdot\!5b_1\right)[/tex]

. . [tex]b_o \;= \;2k\:-\:2\left(5\!\cdot\!10^{n-1}b_n + 5\!\cdot\!10^{n-1}b_{n-1} + \hdots + 5\!\cdot\!10b_2 + 5b_1\right)[/tex]

. . [tex]b_o \;= \;2\left(k - 5\!\cdot\!10^{n-1}b_n - 5\!\cdot\!10^{n-1}b_{n-1} - \hdots - 5\!\cdot\!10b_2 - 5b_1\right)[/tex]

The right side is a multiple of 2, hence the left side is a multiple of 2.

Therefore: .[tex]2|b_o[/tex]

Given: .[tex]2|b_o[/tex], then [tex]b_o = 2k[/tex] for some integer [tex]k.[/tex]