Unpublished research and job interviews

In summary, the speaker is a master's student in engineering who has a job interview tomorrow. They have been asked to prepare a presentation of their research, but the PhD student they have been working with has asked them not to share any unpublished information. The speaker is unsure of what to do and seeks advice. The suggested solution is to show a diluted version of the research to make the interviewers interested but not share any confidential information without permission. It is also suggested that the speaker should discuss this with their collaborators and only proceed with their approval.
yllihp
I'm doing my masters in engineering, and I have a job interview tomorrow. They've asked me to prepare a presentation of my research for the interview. The thing is, the PhD student I've been working with has asked me not to share the information with anyone else since not all of it has been published yet...What should I do?

Physics news on Phys.org
If it's unpublished, just show them a diluted version, just the .ppt that will make them interested without being spoonfed.

Edit: I just assumed you want the job. If you don't want it, don't bother to lose time with the interview and work for the desired degree instead.

Last edited:
You should discuss this with the PhD student and supervisor (or other collaborators) - not with us.

I second atyy- you have an ethical obligation to get permission from your collaborators before presenting *anything*.

As a scientist, it is important to prioritize ethical considerations in all aspects of research and professional interactions. In this situation, it is understandable that the PhD student may want to keep the research information confidential until it is published. However, it is also important to fulfill the requirements of the job interview and present your research in a professional and accurate manner.