University Mathematics Abstraction

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's dilemma in choosing a stream for their second year of study as a MathPhys student. They have narrowed down their options to a combination of ACM, pure maths, and stats or ACM, TP, and Physics. The speaker also expresses their struggles with abstraction and their plans to review concepts over the summer. They seek advice and opinions from others who may have had similar experiences with abstraction in university mathematics. The conversation also touches upon the importance of technical writing and developing a good intuition for mathematical topics.
KevinM
I'm currently a first year MathPhys student, and next year I have to decide my stream. I can pick a combination (pure) Mathematics, Applied & Computationtal. Mathematics, Statistics, MathSci, Physics, Theoretical Physics or Physics with Astronomy & Space. Naturally there are restrictions, and I have narrowed it down to

- ACM, pure maths and stats. This will allow me to pursue any of these degrees, a joint honours between two of the subjects or MathSci.
- ACM, TP and Physics. This will allow me to pursue one of the degrees.I found the physics modules very bland and unsubstantial this year, so am leaning towards picking the first choice. I am however struggling currently with abstraction. It was introduced at the end of Linear Algebra in the context of vector spaces etc. and currently I am taking Real Analysis which I find very challenging. I am worried if I proceed into a mathematics course the level of abstraction and my ability to deal with it will become overwhelming and I simply will not be able to cope. Despite it being challenging, I find aspects of analysis interesting, such as Cardinality for example.