Understanding the Motivation Behind Quantizing Fields in Quantum Field Theory

• Thread starter nrqed
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Fields
In summary, the conversation revolves around the question of the reasoning behind "second quantization" in quantum field theory, and the lack of a satisfying explanation for it. The first approach, which involves introducing operators that change the number of particles, seems more natural than the traditional approach of quantizing a classical field. The discussion also touches on the importance of fields in QFT and the reasons behind their quantization.
nrqed
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Gold Member
Hi everyone.

I have been using quantum field theory for a long time and yet there is a basic question that has always been bugging me. When I was a student I thought that the answer would become clear when I would understand more the subject but now, several years later, I still can't find an answer that I find really satisfactory. I have looked at almost all QFT books that are out there and I never quite found what I was looking for (the only one that I haven't read and which may be more helpful is the field Quantization by Greiner). Unfortunately, I now work in a small town where I can't find other particle physicists to discuss with, so I hope some people here will be willing to exchange their point of view.

My question concerns the reasoning behind "second quantization", i.e. the idea of quantizing classical fields in order to get quantum theories that are relativistically sound.