Understanding the Discrepancy in Power Calculation for a Moving Conveyor Belt

In summary, the problem set asks for the average power required by a conveyor belt as it rapidly accelerates stationary packages of mass. However, the power calculation based on force and velocity does not match the power calculation based on kinetic energy. The discrepancy may be due to the fact that conservation of energy and momentum are both affected by outside forces.
patricks1
Member advised to use the homework template for posts in the homework sections of PF.
Hi, everyone, this is my first time posting.

I have a problem set that states "A machine at a packaging facility places stationary packages of mass m onto a horizontal conveyor belt that is moving packages steadily and horizontally at speed v. Once placed on the belt, the packages start moving at speed v; that is, they are rapidly accelerated."

It asks that I calculate the average mechanical power required by the belt by dividing the kinetic energy per package by the time interval between packages.

I have P = 1/2 m v^2 / T.

It then asks to compute the average force the belt is applying to packages.

I have F = mv/T

Then it says "power is force times velocity so the force answer can be turned into a power answer and compared to the power you computed above."

I get P = mv^2/T

Finally, the set asks "Do you have a discrepancy? If so, why? Which answer is more correct?"