Understanding Quasars & Blazars: Definition & Theory

• Thread starter Xander756
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Quasars
In summary, a quasar is a highly energetic object powered by a supermassive black hole, and a blazar is a type of quasar with jets pointed towards Earth. The jets are created by an electromagnetic field around the black hole, and the emission of these jets is possible through quantum tunneling known as Hawking Radiation.
Xander756
Hey guys I am a bit new to the astronomy scene and am trying to learn as much as I can about space and the universe. One thing that has confused me is quasars (and then blazars). Exact definitions of these is hard to find online, pages I've found always just start going into radio waves and how we detect them and what not but I don't quite understand what they are even.

Is a quasar just a really dense region in the middle of a galaxy which is powered by a supermassive black hole?

Then one thing I found interesting is that blazars emit large beams but if nothing can escape a black hole why does this happen?

Reading the book "Parallel Worlds" by Michio Kaku he also described a "tunneling" effect of radiation that does escape from black holes and was wondering if someone could explain that a little bit more for me as well.

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Xander756 said:
Then one thing I found interesting is that blazars emit large beams but if nothing can escape a black hole why does this happen? ...

It happens because the emission is taking place outside of the black hole's event horizon.