Understanding Branch Cuts of Ln(x) for Integrating (x^2+1)^2 from 0 to Infinity

• Thread starter barrybaker
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Branch
In summary, the author is trying to evaluate the integral \int\frac{ln(x)}{(x^{2}+1)^{2}} from 0 to inf, but is having trouble defining a branch cut. They then try to do the integral from -infty to 0, but find that the contour integral becomes difficult to solve. After trying a few different methods, they arrive at the correct answer.
barrybaker
1.I am trying to evaluate the [tex]\int[/tex][tex]\frac{ln(x)}{(x^{2}+1)^{2}}[/tex] from 0 to inf2. I think I am having problems defining what my branch cut should be.

3. Here is what I have tried to no avail. First set the branch cut from -infty to 0. Then changing it to a contour integral gives us ([tex]\int[/tex][tex]\frac{ln(x)}{(x^{2}+1)^{2}}[/tex]) = 2 [tex]\pi[/tex] i (a-1(i)+a-1(-i))=[tex]\frac{i \pi^{2}}{4}[/tex]

I get somewhat lost after this. Please help. I'm studying for finals but i don't really understand this

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I'd use an upper half-washer with an indentation around the origin. The branch-cut can then be anywhere in the lower half-plane including on the real axis. Then consider the following contour integral:

[tex]\mathop\oint\limits_{W_u}\frac{\text{Log}(z)}{(1+z^2)^2} dz[/tex]

Assuming you can show the integral goes to zero over both large and small semi-circles of the contour, we're left with:

[tex]\mathop\oint\limits_{W_u}\frac{\text{Log}(z)}{(1+z^2)^2} dz=2\int_0^{\infty}\frac{\ln(r)}{(1+r^2)^2}dr+\pi i\int_0^{\infty}\frac{1}{(1+r^2)^2}dr=2\pi i \frac{d}{dz} \frac{\log(z)}{(z+i)^2}\Bigg|_{z=i}[/tex]

where I let [tex]z=r e^{0i}[/tex] on the leg from [tex]0[/tex] to [tex]\infty[/tex] and [tex]z=re^{\pi i}[/tex] on the leg from [tex]-\infty[/tex] to [tex]0[/tex] to arrive at that expression.