Understand Inductrack: Magnetic Arrangements and Drag

• Thread starter Neutronium
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discussed the concept of Inductrack and the use of Halbach arrays to double the magnetic field. The conversation also mentioned the need for a minimum velocity and the use of a separate linear motor for propulsion. The main focus was on the magnetic field arrangements and the effect of magnetic drag at different speeds. The conversation also questioned the availability of clear diagrams or animations illustrating these arrangements.
Neutronium
Hello,
I'm an undergraduate EE student about to make a project proposal on building a miniature vactrain, that is a maglev track encassed in a vacuum, and what kind of efficiency and speeds it can achieve while it's not powered. However, I'm still trying to wrap my mind around the Inductrack concept. Most the resources I've found didn't went into detail since they were directed to the layman, and those that did went into detail still didn't give me a good understanding.

What I do understand is the concept of Halbach arrays and how they can double the magnetic field on a single side, why there needs to be a minimum velocity as the current induced in the coils cause a repulsing magnetic field due to Lenz's law, and if I'm not mistaken, the propulsion would be a separate linear motor that can push the train while in both non-levitating and levitating stages. What puzzles me are the magnetic field arrangements when the magnets interact with the coils and vice versa. What kind of magnetic drag would inductrack trains be subjected to at various speeds? Are there any clear diagrams or animations showing these arrangements?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Neutronium said:
Hello,