Undergraduate Research Topics?

In summary: I don't know if that's something you've ever done before, but it may be worth looking into.In summary, a possible path forward for the project may be to connect your skills more closely with the available resources and expertise at your school.
bjPuckett
I am currently a sophomore physics student at a relatively small liberal arts college. Research opportunities are extremely limited, but I am applying for a grant of up to $2500 to perform a research project for the school. I am having some trouble coming up with topics/projects that I could work on for the next two years (give or take), and I am looking for any ideas that people might have? I don't have any prior research experience, but I am interested in electronics, mechanics, and materials. I am very open to ideas, so please share any potential research projects that you think might be a good fit. Also, I have a little less than two months to come up with a full proposal including a timeline, budget, etc.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
bjPuckett said:
I am currently a sophomore physics student at a relatively small liberal arts college. Research opportunities are extremely limited, but I am applying for a grant of up to $2500 to perform a research project for the school. I am having some trouble coming up with topics/projects that I could work on for the next two years (give or take), and I am looking for any ideas that people might have? I don't have any prior research experience, but I am interested in electronics, mechanics, and materials. I am very open to ideas, so please share any potential research projects that you think might be a good fit. Also, I have a little less than two months to come up with a full proposal including a timeline, budget, etc.

Thanks!

It's hard to brainstorm ideas unless we have a good idea of your existing skill sets and resources you may have available in the department or elsewhere.

Dr. Courtney said: