Two methods for deriving the quadratic formula that I was not taught in school

In summary, there are three main methods for solving quadratic equations: factoring, completing the square, and using the quadratic formula. The quadratic formula is derived by completing the square on the general quadratic in standard form, which involves moving the constant term to the other side and adding the square of one-half the coefficient of the linear term to both sides. Other variations of this technique include shifting the roots and multiplying by 4a. No matter the method, the end result is always the same: x equals negative b plus or minus the square root of b squared minus 4ac, all divided by 2a.
MarkFL
Gold Member
MHB
As a student, I was taught 3 ways to solve quadratic equations:

i) Factoring

ii) Completing the square

iii) Applying the quadratic formula, derived by completing the square on the general quadratic in standard form:

(1) $\displaystyle ax^2+bx+c=0$

To complete the square, I was taught to move the constant term to the other side and divide through by a:

$\displaystyle x^2+\frac{b}{a}x=-\frac{c}{a}$

Then, add the square of one-half the coefficient of the linear term to both sides:

$\displaystyle x^2+\frac{b}{a}x+\left(\frac{b}{2a} \right)^2=-\frac{c}{a}+\left(\frac{b}{2a} \right)^2$

Write the left side as a square, and combine terms on the right:

$\displaystyle \left(x+\frac{b}{2a} \right)^2=\frac{b^2-4ac}{(2a)^2}$

Apply the square root property:

$\displaystyle x+\frac{b}{2a}=\pm\frac{\sqrt{b^2-4ac}}{2a}$

Solve for x:

$\displaystyle x=\frac{-b\pm\sqrt{b^2-4ac}}{2a}$

And we have the famous quadratic formula.

In my years on math forums, I have gleaned two variations on this technique that I would like to share:

Method 1:

Divide (1) by a:

$\displaystyle x^2+\frac{b}{a}x+\frac{c}{a}=0$

Now, we next want to shift the roots to the right by 1/2 the value of the coefficient of the linear term, so our new equation is: