This may be ridiculous but I am just starting to learn Calculus.

• Thread starter Loismustdie
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Calculus
In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of continuity in calculus and how it applies to a function at a certain point and at all its points. The definition of continuity is mentioned and the confusion about how to determine if the whole function is continuous is addressed. Different examples and explanations are given to help clarify the concept.
Loismustdie
This may be ridiculous but I am just starting to learn Calculus.
Anyway I am learning continuity and they say the function is continuous at a certain point c. What I want to know is what does this mean, and how do you know if the function is completely continuous.

Physics news on Phys.org
For starters, have you bothered to read the definition of continuity?

yeah but I am still confused about continuity. If you could answer my question maybe I would know

Vague confusions are not easily resolved!

Please pick up your book again, and state what SPECIFICALLY is unclear to you about the definition of continuity!

My books defintion states that "A function f(x) is continuous at x=c if lim(x->c)f(x)=f(c)." What I am confused about is that if it is continuous at the point x=c how do you know if the whole function is continuous and not just at x=c.

Help me if this can be explained, if not I will just drop it.

The function is continuous at all points if the above holds for all c.

"What I am confused about is that if it is continuous at the point x=c how do you know if the whole function is continuous and not just at x=c.
"

In order to know that the function is continuous at ALL its points, then it has to fulfill the condition of continuity at a point everywhere.

Loismustdie said: