Thinking of writing a research paper on Gyroscopes

In summary, the author discusses precession and how it arises from the unbalancing of centripetal force from the various parts of the gyro. He suggests that someone should work more on this subject, and suggests a possible simulation.
FedEx
Hi everyone

Long time since i posted something.
(May be i have posted at the wrong place, Doc Al...feel free to move it)

I am in my first year... Basically i will have to start writing research papers from the next year... But i am really interested to start from the first year...

I thought for a while and i think that "On the motion of precessing bodies" would be a good topic...I will cover nutation also...

This is my first time i am writing a paper... and the obvious question "Where do i start from?"

I have started going through various websites... I am thinking of some MATLAB simulation also...
My reference material consists "Kleppner" and "Goldstein"(issued it just today)

Help me friends...

Physics news on Phys.org
You might think about writing about applications of gyros, but not on the therory of the gyro itself. There is a closely related subject concerning the instability of solids spinning about their intermediate principal moment of inertia. This might be a more interesting subject. (Almost) Everbody already knows that "the polehode rolls on the herpolehode without slipping", but what happens when the solid is spinning about its intermediate principal moment of inertia? Could the Earth ever turn upside down?
Bob S

Bob S said: