Thinking of changing by degree to physics

In summary, the speaker is a first year university student who is considering switching from a biochemistry program to a physics program in order to pursue medical school. However, this would leave little time for volunteer work and completing pre-requisite courses. The speaker is seeking guidance on how to make this decision and balance their goals.
Protools
Im a first year student at university, and I've been thinking about this for a couple of months now but I am still not sure if i want to do it. I absolutely love physics, the theory and its practicality so switching shouldn't be a hard choice for me. Thing is that i want to attempt to get into medical school, so taking physics would make it a lot harder then the program I am currently in (biochemistry).

I've finished a couple of the pre requisite courses, but i need to take around 4 more. Thing is that the physics program is a four year paid internship (5 year program) so this leaves hardly any time for volunteering and filling out the rest of my pre reqs.

Just unsure of what to do and looking for some guidance

Physics news on Phys.org