Theoretical Cosmology: PhD Programs & Math for UK Students

In summary, the person is an undergraduate masters student in Astrophysics and is preparing to apply for PhD programs. They are interested in theoretical cosmology and are looking for good universities in the UK to pursue a PhD in this area. They mention the University of Durham as a potential candidate, but are also considering other places in Europe. They are concerned about their 2:1 grade and whether it will be acceptable, but have a strong interest in the subject and have actively read publications in the field. They are also looking to improve their mathematics skills and ask for book recommendations. They mention Sussex and Leicester as potential universities to consider and suggest focusing on individual supervisors rather than universities. They also recommend several cosmology books by UK authors and suggest reading them
proguinn
Hey people.

I hold an Astrophysics Msci (undergraduate masters) at 2:1 in the UK, and I'm currently preparing to apply to PhD programmes in 6-7 months time. I have a few questions. I'm interested in theoretical cosmology, and theories of galactic evolution - I'm looking for good universities in the UK that might be willing to cover a PhD in this area, and so far I have the University of Durham as a candidate (others? possibly considering other places in europe, though it seems foreign phd students have an odd time in most european countries).

I'm weary of the fact that the University of Durham has a very good reputation for physics, but am hoping that the 2:1 I have will be acceptable with the other achievements I have had throughout my degree. I've had an interest in this area ever since i covered a short project on a related topic early on in my degree, and have had an active interest in reading publications in the area, though I may not have understood them all. Is it reasonable to include information like this on an application in such an obvious way?