The most diversified PhD program-?

In summary, the person is an Instrument Engineer looking to pursue a PhD program in the US. They have a wide range of interests including maths, physics, electronics, languages, and chemistry. They are seeking a program that is diverse and requires knowledge from multiple fields such as physics, maths, electronics, and chemistry. Suggestions given include Lab-on-a-chip research and nanoscience, but they are also open to other options. They are looking for advice on which PhD program would be the best fit for their interests and skills.
Searcher83
The most diversified PhD program-?

Hello everybody,

I'm an Instrument Engineer working in Oil&Gas sector(field work in automation with transmitters,sensors,valves,PLCs,etc.) who wants to follow the PhD program in one of the US universities.The thing is I have a varied set of interests which make my choice quite complicated.I'm really good at maths,physics,electronics,langs, and I really like 'em all.I also like to do different chemical experimets on my own as a hobbyist.

I understand that considering my education and industrial experience it's more logical for me to choose some PhD program in engineering rather than in a science.Besides that,I like when the theory is applicable.

So,my question is the following:which multi-varied PhD program could be the best fit for me?I'd like to do a research in some diversified field which requires knowledge from physics,maths,electronics,chemistry simultaneously because the Electrical and Electronics engineering alone doesn't cover the spectrum of my interests.I need something more varied,more diverse.Could you share your opinions on that and advice me sth,pls?

Thanks in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org

I think you would enjoy something like Lab-on-a-chip research, where you will need all your skills. But in general everything within nanoscience could be interesting for you.
Good luck.

RedSonja,thanks for the reply.