The Duality in Energy and Matter and it's Intuitiveness

In summary, your plan includes discussing classical beliefs regarding energy and matter, highlighting key experiments that support or oppose these beliefs, evaluating the intuitiveness of the idea, and discussing the implications and impact of this idea on modern physics.
Sid.FH
I am a undergrad modern physics major currently attending my first lab (freshman). I am currently doing my first lab. I was given the research of the following nature. I have made a point plan on how to carry it but I am seeking for expert opinion for my plans and approach.

Homework Statement

What facts about natural phenomena compel us to believe in the dual nature of energy and matter? Is this idea an intuitive one? Discuss the implications of this idea.

2. The attempt at a plan
a) I have taken 'Natural Phenomena' to be the controlled experiments carried out by scientists to proce their ideas. Under this assumption, I decided to first discuss the classical beliefs regarding energy (relating it to thermodynamics and heat) and matter (relating it to electricity and matter). Then, I decided to highlight the tests which proved things for or against the accepted ideas (The Photoelectric Effect, Compton's Effect (is this actually required?) Davisson and Germer's Experiment, Diffraction of a ray, Interference patterns obtained and the system conditions and the behaviour of a ray).

b)Then I decided to judge the intuitiveness of this idea on the basis of the popular reaction of the scientific community as observed from journals.

c)Lastly, I am a little confused about what to discuss in the implications? And to what perspective I should be discussing them.

Help Please!

Sid H.

For the mods: I included the topic in this section as it seemed more suitable here. It may be removed if I violated the rules. Sorry about any worries.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org