The difference between studies and research

In summary, the conversation discusses the problem of choosing a field of research without prior experience, particularly in the context of applying for PhD positions. The individual wonders if they should read extensive material on each project to ensure interest and understanding, and if it is possible to determine if a field will align with their expectations. They also express concern about their ability to excel in a research project, especially in experimental work. The conversation suggests doing research beforehand by reading papers and consulting with professors, and highlights the role of an advisor in guiding and supporting the research process. It is recommended to make a list of research topics and assess them based on personal interest and potential, and to prioritize them accordingly.
Amentia
Hello,

I will probably apply to PhD positions where I have no background and I wonder what to do. My first question is: for each project that seems interesting, should I read hundreds of pages to make sure I really like and understand the project? This would take a very long time, and for the reasons I detail below I would not be 100% sure to enjoy the project.

I would like to talk about the problem of choosing a field of research when one has only an academic background and no previous experience through internships for example.

What I would like to know is the following: can we make sure that a field of research will fit our expectations?