The burden and/or significance of social lives in the path of physics

In summary, the individual is seeking advice on balancing their social life and academic pursuits. They mention their past experience of playing computer games with peers during breaks and the potential impact it may have on their future studies. They also express their desire to make friends in their new program, but question the importance of having friends who do not contribute to their academic development. Other commenters suggest finding friends with similar interests and passions, while also acknowledging the social aspect of studying science.
bogarts21
Hello, everyone. Please excuse my English since its not my native language.

I'm a college freshman about to major in Physics (shifting from M. E.) and while in M. E. I've had this problem of playing computer games in between classes with my peers. Many times I would think of refusing but since I had started to enjoy the game(DotA) I'd go anyway.

So here's my question, in a few weeks I will be with another set of peers in B.Sc. Physics and I want to make a good start, do you think it is still good to make some friends, even if they would contribute little to none in my academic development?

Another thing, I also would want to hear your opinions/knowledge based on experience about what significance/burden a social life brings in an academic life. Thanks in advance. :)Cheers,
bogarts21

Physics news on Phys.org
Hello, everyone. Please excuse my English since its not my native language.

no problem, as long as you make an effort to be clear with what you are saying
I'm a college freshman about to major in Physics (shifting from M. E.) and while in M. E. I've had this problem of playing computer games in between classes with my peers. Many times I would think of refusing but since I had started to enjoy the game(DotA) I'd go anyway.