The break down of a negative binomial equation

In summary, the conversation discusses a question about a negative exponent in the book "Calculus Made Easy" and the process of simplifying it. The author is struggling to understand how the expression (x + dx)^-2 can be simplified to x^-2(1 + dx/x)^-2. With the help of another person, they come to the realization that the expression can be written as (x/x)(x+dx)^-2 and then simplified further by dividing the argument by x. The conversation ends with the author expressing gratitude for the assistance and being able to carry out the division themselves.
mcanski
Firstly, I want to note I'm a post college student who is attempting to teach himself calculus. I'm reading Calculus Made Easy by Silvanus P. Thompson and Martin Gardner, St. Martin's Press, 1998 ed.

My question comes from page 56 Case of a Negative Exponent

y + dy= (x + dx)^-2

= x^-2(1 + dx/x)^-2

I don't understand how the author got from (x + dx)^-2 to the answer x^-2(1 + dx/x)^-2

If someone could either breakdown the process, show me where to go and see examples of how this process is done, or point me in the direction to what emphasis of math I should read to better learn the process I will be grateful. Any help will be appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Try to take it from here:

[tex]
(x+dx)^{-2}=\left(\frac{x}{x}(x+dx)\right)^{-2}
[/tex]

Realize that x/x is just 1 for x!=0 so you can put it in there without changing the expression.

Cyosis, thanks for the next step. I however, am still quite frustrated with this. IMHO, leaving out obscure simplification steps for the reader to deduce on their own begins to miss the mark of making anything "simple". That said, I'm just not seeing the next step here. Is the x/x then getting multiplied into the binomial? I've tried that, but haven't made any headway. Would you help me to carry on from here?

Many thanks!