Implicit differentiaion using the number e (lon-capa)

• Thread starter Nana-chan
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Implicit
In summary, the problem involves finding dy/dx if the curve is defined by 10x^2e^(7y) + 8y^4e^(5x) = 19. The solution requires using the product rule and implicit differentiation. After rearranging the equation and isolating dy/dx, the correct answer is found by dividing both sides by (32y^3*e^(5x)). The mistake in the original attempt was missing a dy/dx term.
Nana-chan
Implicit differentiaion using the number "e" (lon-capa)

Hello~ :3 this is my first time posting here, so I hope I didn't do anything wrong. I'm currently in Calculus 1, university level, and I have to enter all my answers using lon-capa (evil evil program). In lon-capa:

*= multiplication sign
exp= number e (exponents are instead put in parenthesis, as in my answer below)

Homework Statement

Find dy/dx if the curve is defined by

10 x^2 e^(7 y) + 8 y^4 e^(5 x) = 19.

The Attempt at a Solution

This is my lon-capa attempt:
(10*x^2*7*exp(7*y)+20*x*exp(7*y)+8*y^4*5*exp(5*x))/(-32*y^3*exp(5*x))

This is a more reasonable-looking version:
(10x^2*7e(7y)+20x*e(7y)+8y^4*5e(5x))/(-32y^3*e(5x))

I used both the product rule and implicit differentiation, but lon-capa keeps telling me my answer is wrong. I'm not sure if it's a mistake with the parenthesis or the answer itself, but I'd be grateful for any help/advice.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org

Nana-chan said:
Hello~ :3 this is my first time posting here, so I hope I didn't do anything wrong. I'm currently in Calculus 1, university level, and I have to enter all my answers using lon-capa (evil evil program). In lon-capa:

*= multiplication sign
exp= number e (exponents are instead put in parenthesis, as in my answer below)

Homework Statement

Find dx/dy if the curve is defined by

10 x^2 e^(7 y) + 8 y^4 e^(5 x) = 19.

The Attempt at a Solution

This is my lon-capa attempt: