Testing out of college and earning a PhD

In summary, this person is bragging about how smart they are and how they plan to go to Princeton, MIT, or Stanford without testing out. They advise not to do this as it is a very risky route and will most likely be disadvantageous. They also advise gaining humility and not planning to go to one of those schools since it's a complete crapshoot.
FuturePhysicist
Hello I'm currently in high school but I am teaching myself ALOT of math and physics. I'm planning to go to Princeton, MIT, or Stanford. I am curious, since I will already know all of it, if I will be able to acquire a Bachelors degree in physics in one or two years by testing out. If I do this, I will then go to graduate school in Cosmology.

Physics news on Phys.org
Testing out classes doesn't necessarily mean you will gain credit for them. You will still need 120 credit hours to graduate with a BS.

Some time ago when I was an undergrad, a fellow student tested out of high school at 11th grade, tested out of college and went on to graduate school. It was a very risky route as he now had to receive a PhD or maybe MS to complete his education without it he would be nowhere.

Later, I found out he became an author of science books although I never found out if he got that graduate level degree.

In my own experience, I tested out of some math courses and regretted it later on. I was bored and felt it was cool to do. The long term problem was the course difficulty increases and your grades drop and the end result is your GPA is lower than the one who didn't take this route even though you'd taken tougher level courses so just be aware of that side effect. When you apply for jobs, it may come up as HR or the hiring manager looks superficially at the GPA as you know,they will and not the courses you took.

My advice is to not test out. Enjoy the college life, gain friends, help some students and plan your future.

Likes FuturePhysicist