Testing Equivalence Principle: Prying Gravity From Inertia

In summary, the Equivalence Principle might only be approximately true. Any theory of quantum gravity must violate the equivalence principle at some level.
Celeritas02
Hi,

So I came across this article on the internet, and it was about the Equivalence Principle. So I were interested and read it all, and in the article it said that the EP might be only approximately true. What interested me more about the article was it said that any theory of quantum gravity must violate the equivalence principle at some level. Before reading this article I always thought that the EP was established physics, I mean I thought it was experimentally proven...

I'm just a layman who is greatly interested in development in theoretical physics, so I'd be grateful if you could try to reply in less technical terms. Also forgive me for my poor English, I tried to do my best :)

Here's the link to the articles I read:
1. http://www.forbes.com/sites/johnfar...s-seek-a-divorce-prying-gravity-from-inertia/
2. http://www.wildcat.arizona.edu/arti...lenges-einsteins-theory-of-general-relativity

Physics news on Phys.org
Celeritas02 said:
I thought it was experimentally proven...

The equivalence of inertial and gravitational mass has been experimentally verified to 1 part in 100 billion:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eötvös_experiment

(See under "Related Studies", the experiment run by Roll, Krotkov, and Dicke.)

Celeritas02 said:

Unfortunately, neither of these articles links to an actual scientific paper, so it's hard to say much that's useful. Pop science articles are not good sources if you actually want to understand the science.

PeterDonis said:
The equivalence of inertial and gravitational mass has been experimentally verified to 1 part in 100 billion:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eötvös_experiment

(See under "Related Studies", the experiment run by Roll, Krotkov, and Dicke.)