Testing: Choosing the right sensor for RPM

In summary, it is unclear if a hall effect sensor or an optical laser sensor would be a better option for this application. It is unclear if the data acquisition system needs to be real time or if it just needs to measure coastdown time.
Zarathuztra
I have no previous experience collecting RPM data so would like advice from those with previous experience. I need to collect RPM data from my machine and record it's behavior as I apply and remove power. I'll be engaging and disengaging a load. So I'm trying to find out how long it takes for it to come to a rest when I remove power. There are a few pulleys and spindles I could have a sensor observe to collect the data from.

My question, what is the optimal sensor for this job? I've come across information to suggest a hall effect sensor or an optical laser sensor could fit the bill. There will be a fair amount of vibration so I'm not sure if that creates a big disadvantage for either sensor.

*max RPM will be under 4,000
*time for the output to come to a rest should be about 2~10 seconds.
*sample rate only needs to be about 100 Hz. (would like to reliably know within at least 0.1 s of output stopping)

Anyone familiar with this type of test have some recommendations??

Thanks

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
You don't mention the shaft speed involved, and that is relevant.

If you have an exposed gear,a simple magnetic pickup will often do the trick.

Dr.D said:
You don't mention the shaft speed involved, and that is relevant.

If you have an exposed gear,a simple magnetic pickup will often do the trick.

Thanks, I have added that and some more information to the OP. Unfortunately I do not have an exposed gear =(

What are you going to be using for data acquisition from this sensor? A PC? A Raspberry Pi? A cellphone?

What data acquisition software will you be using? LabWindows? LabView? MATLAB? Home-Brew C code and a PC serial port?