Tension Problem when swinging on a vine

• Thread starter lvlech
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Tension
In summary, the student is discussing a homework problem about Tarzan swinging on a vine in the jungle. They are trying to determine the tension on the vine at the lowest point of his swing and whether it is greater than, less than, or equal to Tarzan's gravitational force. The student suggests that the tension is equal to Tarzan's weight and that it would break if it were greater, or there would be no tension if it were less. The teacher prompts the student to use the equation F=ma and identify the forces acting on Tarzan, as well as his acceleration.
lvlech
This is my first time taking physics in my life. I want to get the concepts down on this homework problem.

Homework Statement

Tarzan swings through the jungle on a vine. At the lowest point of his swing, is the tension in the vine greater than, less than, or equal to the gravitational force on Tarzan. Explain.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

Based on logic, isn't the tension on the vine at the lowest point equal to the gravitational force of tarzan because I was thinking if the tension was greater than the gravitational force on tarzan, then the vine would break? Is that correct?

Physics news on Phys.org
lvlech said:
This is my first time taking physics in my life. I want to get the concepts down on this homework problem.

Homework Statement

Tarzan swings through the jungle on a vine. At the lowest point of his swing, is the tension in the vine greater than, less than, or equal to the gravitational force on Tarzan. Explain.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

Based on logic, isn't the tension on the vine at the lowest point equal to the gravitational force of tarzan because I was thinking if the tension was greater than the gravitational force on tarzan, then the vine would break? Is that correct?

Welcome to the PF!