Tension Problem (Two strings and an object)

In summary, the conversation discusses the calculation of tension in two strings supporting a hemispherical sign with a diameter of 1m and a mass of 50kg. The equation W=mg is mentioned, followed by a discussion about creating x and y-axes and determining torque. The final answer is determined to be T1=166.67n and T2=333.33n.
AY3
1. A hemispherical sign in 1m diameter and of mass equal to 50kg is supported by two strings. Calculate the tension in the strings.

2mgtjyu.jpg

2. W = mg

3. I tried to solve it but the only thing I was able to do is knowing the distance between the two strings which is 0.75m, I'm new to physics.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi AY3. http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/5725/red5e5etimes5e5e45e5e25.gif

Identify a point about which you can take moments.

Last edited by a moderator:
Do I create an X and Y axes and then do the sin and cos with an angle of 90 degrees?

Placing an x and a y-axis on the diagram would be a good first step.

It doesn't matter exactly where you locate them.

Last edited:
I solved it, the first step was creating an equation for the summition of force. I called the strings T2 and T2, the equation is T1+T2-W=0 because the object is in equilibrium. I have two unknowns in the equation. So the next step is determining the torque, assuming the point of rotation is T2.
Its equation was (T1*0.75)–(W*0.25)=0
In the end T1=166.67n and by substituting in the first equation T2=333.33n

I meant T1 and T2.

Related to Tension Problem (Two strings and an object)

1. What is tension?

Tension is a force that is created when an object is pulled or stretched. In the case of a tension problem with two strings and an object, the tension is the force that is being applied to the object by the two strings.

2. How do you calculate the tension in a tension problem?