Taking computer science classes to prepare to physicist

In summary, the conversation is about a college freshman considering double majoring in physics and math and wanting to get into physics research as a profession. They are wondering if taking computer science courses would be beneficial for their career goals. The suggestion is to take mathematical modeling and programming courses, which are often combined, but introductory computer science courses could also be helpful.
gigabyte3000
Hey everybody. I'm a freshman in college thinking about double majoring in physics and math. I think I might want to try to get into physics research as a profession, and I think knowing how to program might help me. Someone, however, told me that computer science courses aren't the type of courses I should be taking for this purpose. Are the traditional lower level computer science courses going to just be a waste of time? What sort of programming would be useful in a research field? Thanks in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
I think you should look at taking mathematical modeling courses and programming courses. A lot of the time they'll be grouped into one. Introductory CS is never a bad idea though.

Related to Taking computer science classes to prepare to physicist

1. What computer science classes should I take to prepare for a career as a physicist?

The specific computer science classes you should take will depend on your specific interests within physics. However, some recommended courses may include programming in languages such as Python or C++, data structures and algorithms, and numerical analysis.

2. Will taking computer science classes make me a better physicist?

Yes, learning computer science skills can greatly enhance your abilities as a physicist. These skills can allow you to efficiently process and analyze large amounts of data, simulate complex physical systems, and create visualizations of your research.