Taking a Year Off Before Graduate School (Math)

In summary, the speaker is a sophomore at NYU and is taking difficult classes in mathematics. They are concerned about their grades and their chances of getting into top graduate schools. They are considering taking a year off after undergraduate to study and travel, but are unsure if this will improve their chances of getting into a top graduate program. They are also considering a research position to gain experience and explain the gap year, but are unsure if this will look "hokey" to admissions committees. Ultimately, they are seeking advice on the best course of action to improve their chances of getting into a top graduate school.
klackity
I'm currently a sophomore at NYU. This semester I've been taking some pretty hard classes (Functional Analysis being the hardest). I'm probably not going to do so well grade-wise - probably a few B's.

Basically, I want to understand as much mathematics as I can before I start graduate school. Currently, I know more Analysis than anything else. I've only taken a single course in Algebra. I haven't taken a course specifically in topology, but I know the basics.

Here are the courses I will have taken after this semester:
Calc III (in high school)
Linear Algebra (in high school)
Real Analysis I/II
Algebra I
Vector Analysis
Differential Geometry I/II
Real Variables (mostly measure theory)
Probability
Complex Analysis I/II
Functional Analysis

To try to get myself together more, next semester, I'll be doing the MASS program at Penn State. This will be 3 courses, and I'll get a chance to really focus on understanding and living mathematics.

I expect to graduate with around a 3.85 GPA (in math, and overall) at NYU, if I don't mess up.