TA Work Benefits: How Employers & Grad Schools View It

In summary: Thanks for your input.You don't get paid?That sucks. I'm an undergrad too, and I couldn't imagine doing all that work for free.I did free work, as in voluntary help students. I don't mind doing that at all.
Maxwell
I am wondering how good TAing as an undergraduate looks to potential employers and/or graduate school admission officers. I'm pretty sure it looks very good for grad school, but what about in industry?

I have the opportunity to TA for a pretty significant class in the EE program. It will be a lot of work, and I'll be sacrificing an EE elective I would like to take, but it seems like a good opportunity. I've finished all of my elective positions, so I'm fine in that area, and I've taken plenty of extra EE electives.

So the real question is how much weight does TAing hold in industry? This decision is the difference between potentially a lot of work and taking an easy final semester.

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Maxwell said:
I am wondering how good TAing as an undergraduate looks to potential employers and/or graduate school admission officers. I'm pretty sure it looks very good for grad school, but what about in industry?

I have the opportunity to TA for a pretty significant class in the EE program. It will be a lot of work, and I'll be sacrificing an EE elective I would like to take, but it seems like a good opportunity. I've finished all of my elective positions, so I'm fine in that area, and I've taken plenty of extra EE electives.

So the real question is how much weight does TAing hold in industry? This decision is the difference between potentially a lot of work and taking an easy final semester.

Thanks.

I think it would look awesome for graduate school and employers.

It shows leadership, communication skills, organization, and other things as well.

I would do it simply because it's fun. The only boring part is marking, but that's money.