Surface integrals in spherical coordinates

In summary, the speaker is having trouble calculating flux over sections of spheres without using the divergence theorem. They mention encountering terms like sin^3(phi) and cos^2(phi)sin(theta) that must be integrated and ask if this is normal or if there is an easier method. Another person responds by explaining that integrating sin^3(phi) is not difficult and suggests using u-substitution. The speaker then expresses their frustration with the process.
jbusc
Hi,

I am studying for finals and I'm having trouble calculating flux over sections of spheres. I can do it using the divergence theorem, but I need to know how to do it without divergence thm also.

The problem is, when calculating a vector field such as F(x, y, z) = <z, y, x>, say over the unit sphere (x^2 + y^2 + z^2 = 1), I always end up with weird terms like sin^3(phi) and cos^2(phi)sin(theta) that must be integrated

So, is this normal? Should I memorize integrals for sin^3(phi) and such, or is there an easier method?

thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Integrating sin^3(phi) is not difficult. You know sin^3(phi) = sin^2(phi)*sin(phi) = (1-cos^2(phi))sin(phi). Then just use u-substitution with u = 1-cos^2(phi)

*sigh* I guess it is easy. For some reason it just seems...unnecessary...

Related to Surface integrals in spherical coordinates

1. What are surface integrals in spherical coordinates?

Surface integrals in spherical coordinates are mathematical tools used to calculate the flux of a vector field over a surface in three-dimensional space. They involve integrating a given function over a surface, where the surface is defined in terms of spherical coordinates (radius, polar angle, and azimuthal angle).

2. How are surface integrals in spherical coordinates different from other coordinate systems?