Summer 2010 Plan B (or C, or D)

In summary, a sophomore interested in pure math is looking for advice on applying for REU's, but is not sure if he will be accepted. He has two plans B in case he is not accepted: getting a research position at his home institution or trying to form a study group with other friends who did not get accepted into research programs. If he is not accepted, he could take summer courses to reinforce his understanding of math, but is worried the price may not be worth it.
blackfedora
I'm a sophomore interested in pure math who's been looking at an applying for REU's for the last 2 months (in fact, I discovered this forum while looking for REU advice), but I'm not going to be surprised if I'm not accepted into any of the programs.

My plan B is to try and get a research position at my home institution (which starts taking applicants after they know which majors were able to find REU positions) but that's not a sure thing by any means either.

In the event I find myself with no research opportunities how should I best spend my time this summer to get in a better position for 2011 REUs / grad school?

I was considering getting some textbooks and self teaching myself about an area of mathematics I'm interested in, or going back and filling any gaps in my understanding of foundation courses like linear algebra and calculus if I find myself with 3 months of time to fill.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hey!

I'm in the same situation as you.

I'd say my plan B will be to contact professors at my own university and see if any have a potential research project for me or if they know any other professors who could act as a sort of mentor.

Alternatively, yeah I guess I'll do some independent study, or try and form a study group with other friends who didn't get into research programs.

If anyone has any ideas, do share!