Struggling with relativistic mechanics questions, need a textbook recommended

In summary, the conversation discusses the struggle of catching up on relativity material due to a lack of understanding from the professor and difficulty finding suitable resources. The individual is seeking recommendations for textbooks or videos to help them catch up and mentions an example of the type of coursework they are dealing with. Several resources are suggested, including books on introductory modern physics and a classic book solely focused on relativity. The individual later updates that they were able to ace the test with the help of these resources.
alexis12
I have never done relativity before, my uni professor isn't good enough and I can't understand a word he says, he's all over the place.

Anyway I missed a week due to being sick, and I just can't catch up, I am struggling to find any textbooks that have similar notation or help me solve problems. They all assume I understand things like length contraction, time dilation, proper length, etc.

This is an example of the simplest questions we have been asked: http://i.imgur.com/lHtbXPU.jpg

What textbook, youtube video series, or whatever can I watch to catch up and learn about relativity? This is second year undergraduate physics.

Physics news on Phys.org
alexis12 said:
This is an example of the simplest questions we have been asked: http://i.imgur.com/lHtbXPU.jpg
It's OK to post that as an example of the sort of coursework that you're dealng with, but if you actually want help solving those particular problems, you'll get more support and help from the homework forums.

The level of material in those questions corresponds to a second-year "introductory modern physics" course such as is commonly taught at universities in the US. Books for these courses have a chapter or two about special relativity: length contraction, time dilation, relativistic energy and momentum. Examples: