Struggling a lot with physics -- no problems with math

• Studying
  • Thread starter Mulz
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, the individual is struggling with physics despite having good grades in mathematics. They spend most of their time studying but are unable to progress without looking at the answer sheet. They also have extreme noise sensitivity which hinders their ability to study effectively. They have received previous advice to study more and to seek help with specific problems, but they have difficulty converting word problems into mathematical form and lack worked examples in their textbook. Suggestions have been made to find a book with more examples or to use online resources like Khan Academy to supplement their learning.
Mulz
So far I'm able to get good grades in mathematics, near top. I'm always able to solve the problems given to us. The problem is I'm utterly worthless at physics, even though I'm studying a physics program. I failed my mechanics course and it seems like I will fail thermodynamics now. I don't know what to do.

My problem solving skills are null when it comes down to physics, I have no noticeable difficulties solving mathematical problems. This is also a problem I have with programming. I understand it. I know how to "read" it. I know how to "read" physics but I don't know how to "use" it. With maths, I know how to "use" it, apply my knowledge. I can't even solve the most basic problems in physics!

What should I do? Currently studying medical physics, I refuse to quit.

Physics news on Phys.org
The last time you posted this, you were advised that you needed to study more. What has changed?

Vanadium 50 said:
The last time you posted this, you were advised that you needed to study more. What has changed?
I study several hours everyday, about 80% of it goes to math and rest to physics simply because I'm unable to progress without looking at the answers sheet.