Strengthing metal engine harness bracket to support intake pipe

In summary, the design of the intake bracket on the vehicle can shear over time, causing the engine bracket to break. A shim is added between the two bolts to provide extra strength. This does not appear to be a problem with the thread depth on the engine component.
silverflash
hello! My first post here.

I am by no means a mechanical engineer as I studied computer science in college. My question has to do with adding what is known as a cold air intake onto my vehicle.

The design of the intake is such that the pipe fits at the throttle body via a silicone/rubber coupler and there is a support bracket that goes from the bottom of the aluminum pipe that the intake is made from to a brass/metal engine harness bracket mounted on engine from factory.

What happens over time with this design, is that the movement of the engine seems to cause the engine bracket to shear/break where the bracket overhangs the area of the motor it is mounted to.

here is a pic of how it breaks.
http://i908.photobucket.com/albums/ac282/bzavetsky/xterra%20bracket%20mod%20for%20kool%20vue/broken.jpg here is a pic of the bracket as it is now on my vehicle, you will notice 2 bolts, top and bottom in the picture. one has a ground wire on it per factory and that area sits above nothing but air. The other bolt sits above engine metal and has good support.

http://s908.photobucket.com/albums/ac282/bzavetsky/xterra%20bracket%20mod%20for%20kool%20vue/
I am thinking about adding a strip of steel in between the two bolts acting as a shim of sorts which should add strength to the area that breaks.

Do you see any problem with this logic? Will is cause issues elsewhere at that support connection? perhaps where the other bolt threads into the solid engine area? On pipe where the other end attached to, is a bolt hole in a thick column welded to the outside of the pipe.