Stochastic Differential Equation using Ito's Lemma

In summary: Sure, let's start with this. Suppose you have a process $dY_t = \mu_t dt + \sigma_t\, dX_t$ where $X_t$ is a Brownian motion. If $T > 0$ and $f(t, x)$ is a function that is in $C^{1,2}_{t, x}([0, T] ;(0,\infty))$, that is, continuously differentiable with respect to $t$ on $[0, T]$ and continuously twice-differentiable with respect to $x$ on $\Bbb (0,\infty)$, then $f(t, Y
cdbsmith
I am new to SDE, and especially Ito's Lemma. I have a question that I simply cannot answer. It attached.

Can someone please help?

Attachments

• Q1 - Itos Lemma.png
    Q1 - Itos Lemma.png
    6.8 KB · Views: 62
Physics news on Phys.org
cdbsmith said:
I am new to SDE, and especially Ito's Lemma. I have a question that I simply cannot answer. It attached.

Can someone please help?

Hi cdbsmith,

Let $u = \log y $, $\mu_t = \alpha - \beta u$, and $\sigma_t = \delta$. Then $du = \mu_t dt + \sigma_t dX_t$. Let $g(u) = e^u$. We have by Ito's lemma

$\displaystyle dg = \left(g'(u)\mu_t + \frac{g"(u)}{2}\sigma_t^2\right) dt + g'(u)\sigma_t\, dX_t $,

$\displaystyle dg = \left[e^u(\alpha -\beta u) + \frac{e^u}{2}\delta^2\right] dt + e^u\delta\, dX_t$,

$\displaystyle \frac{d(e^u)}{e^u} =(\alpha - \beta u + \frac{1}{2}\delta^2) dt + \delta\, dX_t$,

$\displaystyle \frac{dy}{y} = (\alpha - \beta\log y + \frac{1}{2}\delta^2) dt + \delta\, dX_t$.

Euge said:
Hi cdbsmith,

Let $u = \log y $, $\mu_t = \alpha - \beta u$, and $\sigma_t = \delta$. Then $du = \mu_t dt + \sigma_t dX_t$. Let $g(u) = e^u$. We have by Ito's lemma

$\displaystyle dg = \left(g'(u)\mu_t + \frac{g"(u)}{2}\sigma_t^2\right) dt + g'(u)\sigma_t\, dX_t $,

$\displaystyle dg = \left[e^u(\alpha -\beta u) + \frac{e^u}{2}\delta^2\right] dt + e^u\delta\, dX_t$,

$\displaystyle \frac{d(e^u)}{e^u} =(\alpha - \beta u + \frac{1}{2}\delta^2) dt + \delta\, dX_t$,

$\displaystyle \frac{dy}{y} = (\alpha - \beta\log y + \frac{1}{2}\delta^2) dt + \delta\, dX_t$.

Thanks, Euge!