Steps to differentiate a geometric sum

In summary, to differentiate a geometric sum, x, you can either directly differentiate the series or differentiate the formula obtained for the sum. The derivative on both sides of the geometric sum, with respect to x, can be expressed as \frac{d}{dx}(\frac{1-x^{n+1}}{1-x}) = \frac{x^{n}(n(x-1)-1)+1}{(x-1)^2}.
Crystals
Can someone guide me with the steps to differentiate a geometric sum, x?

[itex]^{n}_{i=0}[/itex][itex]\sum[/itex]x[STRIKE][itex]^{i}[/itex][/STRIKE]=[itex]\frac{1-x^{n+i}}{1-x}[/itex]

If I'm not wrong, the summation means:

[itex]= x^0 + x^1 + x^2 + x^3 + ... + n^i[/itex]

Problem is:
I have basic knowledge on differentiating a normal numbers but how do I apply differentiate on a geometric sum?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Its been a while since I looked at these kinds of problems, so I checked out Paul's Online Calculus Notes, which is a good reference.

I would think that...

[itex] \frac {d}{dx} \sum_{n=0}^{i} x^{i} = \sum_{n=0}^{i} \frac {d}{dx} x^{i} [/itex].

From there, I would see the what the series actually looks like, then express the summation as a formula.

And I think that this is valid for the derivative of a Power Series.

[tex]\frac{d}{dx}(\sum a_n(x))= \sum \frac{da_n(x)}{dx}[/tex]

if and only if the initial sum is "uniformly convergent". All power series are uniformly convergent inside the radius of convergence.

Crystals said:
Can someone guide me with the steps to differentiate a geometric sum, x?

[itex]^{n}_{i=0}[/itex][itex]\sum[/itex]x[STRIKE][itex]^{i}[/itex][/STRIKE]=[itex]\frac{1-x^{n+i}}{1-x}[/itex]

If I'm not wrong, the summation means:

[itex]= x^0 + x^1 + x^2 + x^3 + ... + n^i[/itex]

Problem is:
I have basic knowledge on differentiating a normal numbers but how do I apply differentiate on a geometric sum?

You are wrong: it means
[tex]x^0 + x^1 + x^2 + \cdots + x^n = 1 + x + x^2 + \cdots + x^n.[/tex]
Note how the last term differs from yours. Also, this is equal to