Springs and dampers and other fun stuff

In summary, the actual damping coefficient will change when the damper is moved from 10cm to 90cm from the pivot point, as the distance affects the force and displacement experienced by the damper. Make sure to take this into account when calculating the actual coefficient for each position. Best of luck!
woops
Hi everyone I am a second year engeneering student and i have a report to do where we have to work out the damping coeficient of a dashpot. This involved using the equivivilent system and displacement time graphs at two different points on the beam. I was wondering after converting the equivilent damping coefficent at each point ,one 10cm from the pivot end of the beam and the other at 90 cm from the beam, to the actual damping coeficient the two values should be the same. I guess what i am asking is if a damper is placed at 10cm from a pivot and then moved to 90cm should the actual damping coeficient change?
Please help my report is due in in a day and i have only just relised that i may have messed the whole discussion and background theory, so much for being fininshed a week ago :-(
Thanks

Engineering news on Phys.org

Dear engineering student,

Thank you for reaching out with your question about the damping coefficient of a dashpot. It sounds like you are working on a very interesting project!

To answer your question, yes, the actual damping coefficient should change if the damper is moved from 10cm to 90cm from the pivot point. This is because the damping coefficient is a measure of the resistance to motion, and the distance from the pivot point affects the amount of force and displacement the damper experiences.

In general, the further away a damper is from the pivot point, the greater the damping effect it will have. This is because the lever arm (distance from the pivot point to the damper) increases, resulting in a larger moment arm and therefore more force being applied to the damper.