Spatial dimensions inside a black hole

In summary, the conversation discusses the interest in black holes and the interpretation of the Schwarzschild metric. The significance of the time-like dimension inside the event horizon and its implications for space dimensions and anthropic considerations are also mentioned. The conversation also mentions a professor at UC Boulder who studies these concepts and provides a link to his work.
atrchi
hello all

I am so glad to have found this forum. I've always had an interest in astrophysics, cosmology, SR/GR, etc, and no place to ask questions. I'm an engineer and was once a member of Mensa (I only left the organization because I thought other members were crazy. Sorry). So although I'm an amateur at this stuff, I hope my questions are worthy of your consideration.

I've been reading lately a lot about black holes, and something that caught my interest, is the interpretation of the Schwarzschild metric which says r becomes a time-like dimension for an infalling observer past the event horizon. I read somewhere else that the Schwarzschild metric was originally only thought to be valid outside the event horizon, but later work using different coordinates was able to connect the outside to the inside, so I assume the time-like characteristics of r inside the radius are still a worthwhile area of scientific investigation (note, to those who believe that science has no business investigating things that are outside the observable universe, as the inside of black holes is to our frame of reference, I retort: if we don't try to understand what the inside of a black hole looks like, we'll never be able to assert that we are not inside one).

So, that leads me to a few questions...