Solving Motor Stall Current Issue: Tips and Tricks | Master Project Update

In summary, the individual is having trouble starting their DC motor due to a mistake in choosing a suitable power supply. They need a way to jump-start the motor without replacing the expensive power supply. One solution suggested is using a 1 ohm series resistor or multiple 24V truck headlamp globes to limit the current during start-up. Another alternative is to create a switching current limiter.
maxstag
Hi,

I am currently doing my Master project and unfortunately did a rookie mistake.
My DC motor is mechanically linked to a loaded PMA (wind turbine generator) and I need to run it at a variable speed. All this is built, however when choosing my PSU, I forgot to take into account the stall current (which was unfortunately not indicated in the motor's datasheet. My motor is rated at around 600W (3/4 HP to be precise) with 24V (so a current of 25A). My PSU is the same, 24V and 25A rated. My whole system is built, the motor starts for 1 second and then the PSU stops working (very probably due to overloading). I am therefore unable to start my motor at all.

Would any of you have a solution for me to jump-start my motor without having to replace the whole PSU (which is quite expensive)? I still do not have a measurement of stall current, but I ordered a meter shunt to help make my measurements.

Datasheet:
OMPMDC34-18-24V-56C :
http://www.omega.com/Auto/pdf/OMPM-DC.pdf

Thank You for your help.

maxstag

Engineering news on Phys.org
The quick and dirty solution would be a 1 ohm series resistor rated about 600 watt. Instead of a resistor, I would consider using 24V 100W truck headlamp globes, maybe 4 to 6 of them in parallel. That will limit current during start-up, globes will then go dim and low resistance once motor is running. Maybe a parallel switch to short the globes for maximum power.

Alternatively, make a switching current limiter.