Solving Lie Group Exercise: Proving U Generates G

In summary, Marlon received an exercise to solve that asks him to find a generator for a given neighborhood of the e-vector space, but is unsure of what differentiation and diff equations are. He is given a general overview of how the concept of generator is used in Lie algebra and how it is related to the solution of differential equations. He is then given a task to find a generator for a given neighborhood of a Lie group, and given a counter example. He is told that if he assumes connectedness, then the standard method is to show that the set of elements which can be written as such a sum is both open and closed. However, he is told that for closedness, he may use the nbhd
Palindrom
Hi.

I'm now studying Lie Groups, and have received the following exercise to solve. I have absolutely no idea where to begin, so please give me a direction.

Let U be any neighborhood of e. Prove that any element of G can be written as a finite product of elements from U (i.e., U generates G).

Physics news on Phys.org
Nobody? I just need a small hint, as I have no intuition yet...

Palindrom said:
Nobody? I just need a small hint, as I have no intuition yet...
Let me give you a general overview of how the concept of generator is used in Lie algebra.
Look at these differential equations dx/dt = x and dy/dt = y.

I can write these like this [tex]\frac {dx^{i}}{dt} = X^{i}(x')[/tex] where the [tex]X^{i}[/tex] denotes a vector field equal to [tex]( x \frac{d}{dx},y \frac{d}{dy} )[/tex] and the x' denotes the variables, here : (x,y).
This field is an operator.

Now suppose we write the solutions of the above differential equaltions as [tex]x^{i} = p(t,y)[/tex], where t is a parameter and y is the solution for t = 0 (Cauchy existence theorem)