Solving Int. with Trig Substitution for Beginners

In summary, the conversation involves a student seeking guidance on using trigonometric substitution to solve a calculus problem. They are unsure about what to substitute and the other party suggests simplifying the expression first.
stihl29

Homework Statement

[tex]\int\frac{\sqrt{1+x}+\sqrt{1-x}} { \sqrt{1+x}-\sqrt{1-x}}{dx}[/tex]

Homework Equations

I believe trig substitution can be used here. I'm not very good at calculus only beginning to take calc classes, and guideance would be wonderful. because i want to get better.

The Attempt at a Solution

I don't have any idea on what to substitute.
x = some thing like x^2 ??
or u = 1 - x
and u = 1 + x ??

Physics news on Phys.org
The first thing you want to do is simplify the expression algebraically. It will help to rationalize the denominator by multiplying numerator and denominator by sqrt(1-x)+sqrt(1+x). The trick here is that (sqrt(a)-sqrt(b))*(sqrt(a)+sqrt(b))=a-b. Try simplifying it and see how far you can get.

ohhhh, thank you, i can't attempt it at this moment but your solution looks promising !

Related to Solving Int. with Trig Substitution for Beginners

1. What is trigonometric substitution?

Trigonometric substitution is a method used to solve integrals that involve expressions with square roots and/or quadratic terms. It involves substituting the variable in the integral with a trigonometric function, which simplifies the integral into one that can be easily solved using trigonometric identities.

2. When should I use trigonometric substitution?

Trigonometric substitution should be used when the integral involves expressions with square roots, quadratic terms, or both. These types of integrals can be difficult to solve using other methods, and trigonometric substitution can simplify the problem and make it easier to solve.

3. How do I choose the appropriate trigonometric substitution?