Solving 2nd Order ODEs: y^4 -3y'' -4y = 0

In summary, the conversation discusses a differential equation and the difficulty in solving it. The equation is y^4 -3y'' -4y = 0 and it can be rewritten as y'''' - 3y'' -4y = 0. The conversation mentions that the equation is hard to solve and may involve elliptic integral. The suggested solution is y=e^rx and the complementary solution is y=c_1*e^2x + c_2*e^-2x + c_3(sinx) + c_4(cosx).
mj478
Hi. I am new to differential equations. This is probably pretty easy but I don't quite understand how to do it yet.

The equation is y^4 -3y'' -4y = 0.

I can figure out what class of equation it is. I can write it in the form y'' = F(y), but I am not really sure how to solve it.

Physics news on Phys.org
Actually I think the problem is y'''' - 3y'' -4y. But I am still not sure what to do.

mj478 said:
Actually I think the problem is y'''' - 3y'' -4y. But I am still not sure what to do.

Sure it is y'''' - 3y'' -4y = 0 because dasy to solve.
Solving y^4 - 3y'' -4y =0 is possible, but hard. It involves elliptic integral.

This is ODE with constant coefficients..

Suppose that the solution is y=e^rx, than solve it!

i find that r=2, r=-2, r=i, r=-i

which means that

complementary solution of eqn is y=c_1*e^2x + c_2*e^-2x + c_3(sinx) + c_4(cosx)

Related to Solving 2nd Order ODEs: y^4 -3y'' -4y = 0

1. What is a 2nd order ODE?

A 2nd order ODE (ordinary differential equation) is an equation that relates a function and its derivatives up to the second order (e.g. y'', y''', etc.). It is commonly used in mathematical modeling to describe physical phenomena.

2. How do you solve a 2nd order ODE?

To solve a 2nd order ODE, you can use various methods such as separation of variables, substitution, or the characteristic equation. Each method involves manipulating the equation to isolate the dependent variable and its derivatives.

3. What does "y^4 -3y'' -4y = 0" mean?