Simulating linear acceleration of a vehicle

In summary, a software engineer is seeking help in creating an application to accurately model the acceleration of a vehicle down a drag strip. The engineer wants to incorporate real-world physics and allow users to virtually test modifications to their vehicles. The project was inspired by the engineer's love of cars, computers, and physics, and their success in accurately predicting their own car's performance. The engineer is looking for someone to provide calculations and suggestions for the project.
Tmp
Hi All,

I’m new here so please forgive me if this isn’t the right section to post in.

This is a bit of an epic idea/post so I’ll just start with a basic overview and see if anyone’s interested.

Summary:

I’m a very good software engineer and I know a reasonable amount about maths and physics but I’m looking for help in writing an application to accurately model the acceleration of a vehicle down a drag strip. This application needs to be as close to the real world as possible and would allow you to try out modifications to your vehicle virtually and see what effect they would have.

I’m not doing this for profit or as a business or anything like that, I’m doing it because I have a car that I drag race and I have a love of programming and physics.

This is entirely possible to do because after a lot of Googleing someone has already done the exact thing that I want to do. HOWEVER – it’s not in SI units, and the user interface is terrible. I also want to extend the simulation to realtime graphics and generally make it much more interesting. (but that’s to come later)

Here’s what I want to make -> http://performancesimulations.com/

Why/what/how: