Simple probability distribution function on gnuplot

In summary, plotting a graph from a csv file in gnuplot requires specifying the columns using the "using" syntax. The data in the left column represents the x-axis values, while the data in the right column represents the y-axis values. It is also possible to customize the range of the axes using the "set xrange" and "set yrange" commands.
bert2612
Hi, I am trying to plot a graph I have made using excel on gnuplot. I have converted the excel book to a csv file and the data I have looks like this

and so on for 2048 different points.

The data in the left column goes from 0 to 2047, these represent each value in the x-axis
The data in the right column are the points I want to plot, all of them will be below 0.2 so I need my y-axis to range from 0 to 0.2.
I have tried putting this into gnuplot but when I do I just it just plots the values in the left column, so I end up with a straight line graph for y=x. I am new to this package so any help will be appreciated. Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
!To plot this data in gnuplot, you need to specify the columns of your data using the "using" syntax. For example, if your data is stored in a file called "data.csv", you would use the following command: plot "data.csv" using 1:2 with linesThis tells gnuplot to plot the second column (the y-axis values) against the first column (the x-axis values) using lines. You can also customize the range of the axes with the "set xrange" and "set yrange" commands. For example, to set the y-axis range from 0 to 0.2, you would use the command: set yrange [0:0.2]

Related to Simple probability distribution function on gnuplot

1. What is a probability distribution function?