Simple Pendulum Experiment questions

In summary, the string in a simple pendulum needs to be massless to simplify calculations. A "frictionless pivot" is a term used to simplify exam questions, as no pivot will be completely frictionless. The term for the stiffness of a string is simply "stiffness", but in real life, the mass of the string would need to be taken into account.
nousername
HI ALL!

Im new to physics forums, so ill see how i go :)

I have some questions below regarding a simple pendulum:

1) Why does the string need to be massless? What will happen if it isn't massless?
2) What does a "frictionless pivot mean"? If i have two plates which have the string in between and then i clamp the two plates together, does that mean i have a frictionless pivot or a pivot with friction? I don't get what is meant by a frictionless pivot. If you had a choice between a fishing line and string, which one would you choose and why? I would think that the fishing line is too stiff and would cause a retarding force on the pendulum... so i would choose the string... not sure.
3) What is the PHYSICS term given to the 'stiffness' of a string.

Thanks in advance

Physics news on Phys.org
welcome to pf!

hi kirollos! welcome to pf! :smile:
kirollos said:
1) Why does the string need to be massless? What will happen if it isn't massless?

if it isn't massless, we need to include the moment of inertia of the string
2) What does a "frictionless pivot mean"? If i have two plates which have the string in between and then i clamp the two plates together, does that mean i have a frictionless pivot or a pivot with friction? I don't get what is meant by a frictionless pivot. If you had a choice between a fishing line and string, which one would you choose and why? I would think that the fishing line is too stiff and would cause a retarding force on the pendulum... so i would choose the string... not sure.

no pivot will be completely frictionless