Silicon Photonics and Quantum Computing

In summary, as a final year undergraduate student studying Electronic Engineering with a focus on Silicon Photonics, the individual expresses interest in quantum computing and its potential applications in photonics. They are considering pursuing a master's degree in Electronic Engineering or starting over with a bachelor's degree in physics or computer engineering to further their knowledge and understanding in this field. They seek advice on the essential things to learn and are encouraged to continue exploring their interests while also gaining a strong foundation in relevant fields such as quantum mechanics.
NexusN
Hi everybody,

I am currently a final year undergraduate student studying Electronic Engineering with my focus being Silicon Photonics.

On exploring the advanced topics, I came across quantum computing and I have great interest in knowing more about it.
Searching the web I found that some quantum computing developments are looking into the field of photonics and the feasibility of using optical devices to build the quantum computer.
It looks what I am learning might extend to this, studying master seems an option.

Please forgive me for being ignorant, but regrettably things are a bit confusing to me at the moment.
I do not have much knowledge in quantum mechanics; I have little ideas with what the next step could be if I would like to do research work in quantum computing.
It requires a wide range of knowledge and in-depth understanding of several fields; things like classical computing and quantum physics sounds the important pre-requisites for any steps further.
Do you think I should pursue my study with a master degree in Electronic Engineering, or start over with a bachelor degree in physics or computer engineering?

I understand these questions may be silly to raise and quite late for a third year student to realize...but I do hope to hear from you some advice and what are the essential things to learn.