Signal Processing Graduate Schools

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's interest in pursuing a master's degree in electrical engineering with a specialization in signal processing. They inquire about the best graduate schools for this field, with the other speaker suggesting that most decent programs in electrical engineering offer a focus on digital signal processing. They also mention other possible areas of focus, such as communications and control theory. The speaker mentions considering top schools, but not necessarily Stanford or MIT.
jlancha1
I'm a junior electrical engineer at a NY state school I'm looking to get my masters in EE with a specialization in signal processing. What are the best graduate schools for this?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
well, "Signal Processing" itself is a very broad topic area itself. nearly any decent graduate program in Electrical Engineering has, among others, a topic emphasis in DSP. but if your interest is in Communications, or Control Theory, or Media (audio, video, speech, image processing), Information theory, Biomedical, Aerospace, Defense,... knowing that might help you decide.

Yeah I think it's between media and info theory

so how high are you aiming? Stanford? MIT?

there are plenty of other decent grad schools.

Yeah I wouldn't say Stanford or MIT, but some of the other top ones.

Related to Signal Processing Graduate Schools

1. What is signal processing and why is it important in today's world?

Signal processing is the analysis, manipulation, and interpretation of signals to extract meaningful information. It plays a crucial role in various fields such as telecommunications, medical imaging, speech and audio processing, and many more. With the increasing use of technology and digital devices, signal processing has become an essential tool for data analysis and communication.

2. What kind of skills will I develop in a signal processing graduate program?