Should I take Combinatorics or Abstract Algebra?

In summary, for a senior student double majoring in computer science and mathematics with the intention of pursuing a Ph.D. in theoretical computer science, taking the "Combinatorial Methods and Design" course in the upcoming winter semester would be more relevant. While "Computer Algebra" is also important, its applications are more geared towards numerical computations and algebraic manipulations rather than the fundamental topics in theoretical computer science.
Msh1
I am a senior student double majoring in computer science and mathematics with the intention
of getting a p.h.d in theoretical computer science(either computational complexity or applied discrete mathematics). for the upcoming winter semester I can take 1 math course. The ones that are related to computer science are titled "Combinatorial Methods and Design" and "Computer Algebra", both of which are advanced level courses.
I have taken the following math course beyond Calculus and Linear Algebra(ODE's, Intro to Topology, Real Analysis, Complex Analysis, Abstract Algebra I and II, Intro to Graph Theory, Introduction to Combinatorics, PDE's, Algebraic Geometry)

So has anyone taken any course similar to these two? Which one do you is more relevant to theoretical computer science.
Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
I would recommend taking the course "Combinatorial Methods and Design", as it is more relevant to theoretical computer science. Combinatorics is a fundamental topic in theoretical computer science, and it can be used to solve many problems related to algorithms, complexity theory, and graph theory. Computer algebra is also a useful tool for theoretical computer science, but its applications are more focused on numerical computations and algebraic manipulations.

Related to Should I take Combinatorics or Abstract Algebra?

1. Should I take Combinatorics or Abstract Algebra?