Should I Switch Majors? Advice for Physics Students

• Programs
  • Thread starter starstruck_
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Switch
In summary: I feel like I’m not really grasping physics concepts as well as I should be. I’ve been trying to do the same amount of work and study for the last three weeks but my grades haven’t improved at all. I feel like I’m not getting the most out of myself and I’m not really enjoying the classIn summary, the student is down in the dumps because of school, and he's worried about how he's doing and whether he can make it through his upper years. He's also scared of how he's doing and wants to continue but is at the average he needs to be. He's also trying to figure out what's wrong and what he can do to improve.
starstruck_
Hey!

I’m kinda down in the dumps right now because of school. I’m in my first year of physics and uh I’ve had a couple bad tests for some of my courses and I’m starting to worry that if I can’t even do really well right now, how will I make it through my upper years. I really don’t want to switch out of physics - I’ve spent half of middle school and all of high school to be here, it would be a waste and I like physics too much to not make it my major, but I’m also scared of how I’m doing. I want to keep going though, and not quit. I am at the average I need to be at and can always take easier courses to boost my marks but idk :/ any advice or insight will be helpful!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
If a person asks whether he should pursue physics on a physics forum, what kind of advice is he likely to get?
- probably thoughts like "Don't get discouraged! Endure! Work problems!".

To give balanced consideration to the alternatives, it would help if you explained them. If you switch majors, what would you switch to? Is there any reason to suspect courses in the different major would involve easier tests? (Some majors might require that you take the same introductory physics courses that physics majors take.)